Broadcast Journalism Networks

For many years, T-Media has been involved in promoting international exchanges between broadcast journalists, to debate the key issues, share expertise, defend independence and improve the quality of news programmes across Europe.

AEJ - Association of European Journalists

AIB - Association for International Broadcasting

The Rory Peck Trust

The News Xchange

The Frontline Club

Association of European Journalists (British section)

The AEJ is the only European organisation of individual journalists working in every form of media. It is an independent non-profit organisation with no institutional, political or union ties.

Membership is open to all journalists who believe in improving access to information and better understanding of important European issues. Rick Thompson is a former Chairman of the AEJ British Section

The AEJ was established in 1963 within the first six countries to sign the Treaty of Rome. Now it has a membership of over 1000 journalists in 26 national sections.
Across Europe:
The AEJ provides an information network for journalists. The Association is run with a minimum of bureaucracy. The President, Vice-Presidents, General-Secretary and Treasurer are elected by the Annual Assembly, which takes place in a member country each year. The AEJ is a federation, with each national section setting its own agenda. The annual AEJ Prize recognises outstanding journalism about European affairs.

In Britain:
The British Section was launched originally by members of the BBC World Service and the Financial Times. Now it has a much wider membership embracing all media. Its main activity is to host meetings with leading Europeans. These meetings are normally held in London during a buffet lunch, and are candid discussions, often with the opportunity for individual interviews afterwards. Guests range from EU Commissioners and Ambassadors to leaders of industry, politics and finance. The section also organises seminars and conferences on current European issues, and campaigns vigorously for media freedom in Europe.

European Guests:
Guests who have talked to the AEJ British Section include: Paddy Ashdown, Michael Bishop, Emma Bonino, Lord Carlisle QC, Shami Chakrabarti, Kenneth Clarke, Robin Cook, Ralf Darendorf, Ian Duncan-Smith, Caroline Flint, Declan Ganley, Eddie George, Michael Grade, Pauline Green, Prof Peter Hennessy, Douglas Hurd, Gerald Kaufman, Neil Kinnock, Judith Mayhew, David Owen, John Redwood, George Robertson, Javier Solana, and Karel Van Miert.

Please Join! All working journalists in the UK are welcome to join the growing number of AEJ members. Annual membership is only £30 with contributions requested for the cost of lunches when you attend. Ask Margaret Hughes for an application form.

British Section Secretary: Margaret Hughes
Chairman: William Horsley

AEJ British Section
AEJ International
The association of senior British Editors in all media is the Society of Editors:


The Association for International Broadcasting is the global trade association for the cross-border broadcasting industry. It is the only organisation covering the entire range of international broadcasting. The AIB is a not-for-profit organisation, with headquarters in London and an Asia-Pacific office in Sydney. The AIB has a small secretariat team and an Executive Committee drawn from the membership.

The Association provides a range of services to members including market intelligence, audience research, and analysis of all areas of cross-border broadcasting, including new technology. The AIB's quarterly magazine, "The Channel" is read by 5,000 senior industry executives in more than 100 countries. The main objective of the AIB is to bring together representatives from the world's international television and radio broadcasters. Each year it holds a Global Media Business conference, which attracts broadcasters from around the world who share the common interest of broadcasting to international audiences.

Contact: AIB Chief Executive: Simon Spanswick
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7993 2557


The Rory Peck Trust

The voice of freelance camerapeople in newsgathering, current affairs and documentaries.

T-Media's Director, Rick Thompson, is a member of the Rory Peck Trust Committee. Rory Peck was a well-known and respected freelance cameraman who was killed during the failed insurrection in the centre of Moscow in 1993. The charitable trust established in his name promotes safety issues for the growing number of freelancers in international newsgathering. Grants are awarded to the dependants of freelancers killed or seriously injured while working in hazardous zones. The annual Rory Peck Awards, held in London, recognise enterprise and excellence by freelance camera-journalists around the world.

The Rory Peck Training Fund provides subsidies for freelancers to undertake expert Hostile Environment training courses. The Trust seeks to persuade insurance companies to provide affordable cover for freelancers who have undergone safety training.



The Director of the Rory Peck Trust is Tina Carr
The Chairman is Adrian Wells, Foreign Editor at Sky News
The Communications Manager is Molly Clarke

Rory Peck Trust
Tel: +44 (0) 203 219 7860

The News Xchange

The News Xchange has become the leading annual gathering of the broadcast news industry from around the world. The event is underwritten by the European Broadcasting Union, and is usually held in November each year.

Topical issues of the day which are having an impact on broadcast journalists and editors are debated by the leading industry players in a dynamic format.

To view highlights of last year’s event, see the website:


Amy Selwyn
The News Xchange
43-51 Great Titchfield Street
London W1W 7DA

Tel: +44(0)20 7631 4533
Fax: +44(0)20 7631 4113

The Frontline Club

The Frontline Club at Norfolk Place near Paddington Station is now London's focus point for the newsgathering community, with meeting rooms, a club bar and a restaurant. It was established by the award-winning freelance cameraman, Vaughan Smith. Rick is one of the founding members.
‘Frontline’ hosts debates, guest speakers and book launches relevant to the news industry, and screens outstanding documentaries from around the world.

For more information about Frontline Club events, as well as membership information, visit the Frontline Club website:


© T-Media 2014 | Email: